The New Now
The New Now Podcast
Night Bus to the Everglades
3
0:00
-1:09

Night Bus to the Everglades

3
Transcript

No transcript...

Ann lived in a downtown apartment building that had the last payphone in town / 2015 / RCS

Listening to weird ones watering their lawns in the middle of the night. Watching Bogart shooting Edward G. Robinson in the Keys, on a black and white screen. So many things need doing, even at this late hour. Go outside and pull all the pay phone receivers in town off the hook, for instance. And writing up a long list, beginning with the word: travelogue. Made it as far as the back porch, where clouds rolled through the nightscape like a freshly painted Dali background. All I know is its no time to remove my hat. I dream of catching a late bus to the Everglades and sleeping well – curled and restlessly dreaming inside a ten-dollar thrift store jacket made in Italy. Feeling my mind moving with the arc of the sun, tracing a skull-path known only to me. Fissures are forming in the Ice Age of my heart. The Third Eye wakes up to survey all, blinking off centuries of dust.

Leave a comment

3 Comments
The New Now
The New Now Podcast
Welcome to The New Now. I publish manifestos, essays, prose poems, novel chapters, short stories, noir prose poems, and flash fiction. I also touch on living through these historical times, quotes on life, writing, books, and freedom of thought.